The Turkish Lira

Turkish Lira


The Turkish lira (code: TL); is the currency of Turkey and the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (recognized only by Turkey). The Turkish lira is subdivided into 100 kuruş.

All obverse sides of current banknotes and reverse sides of current coins have portraits of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk .  Historical banknotes from the second, third and fourth issues have portraits of İsmetİnönü on the obverse side. This change done according to January 12, 1926 dated official gazette and canceled by Democrat Party after World War II.